What was the capital of Arizona before Phoenix?

What was the capital of Arizona before Phoenix?

The capital of the Arizona Territory was established in Prescott, but was moved to Tucson, back to Prescott, and finally to Phoenix over 25 years as political power shifted as the territory grew, developed, and stabilized. Each move was controversial.

What were the capitals of Arizona?


How many capitals has AZ had?

“Throughout the Civil War, there are essentially two capitals of Arizona, two different Arizonas. And until the ending of the Civil War that really officially clarifies everything and puts Arizona into the shape that we recognize it is,” Batesaid.

Was Prescott the capital of Arizona?

Prescott was founded in 1864 as the Territorial Capital of Arizona. Though three of the names originally proposed for Prescott were “Audubon”, “Goodwin City” and “Aztlan”, the name “Prescott” was chosen in honor of William Hickling Prescott, author of The History of the Conquest of Mexico.

When was the Arizona State Capitol built?

Arizona Capitol Museum/Years built

Why did Phoenix become the capital?

Fast forward another 10 years, and the capital had essentially spent an equal amount of time in the northern and southern parts of Arizona. Finally, it was decided that the capital should be somewhere more central, and Phoenix ended up fitting the bill. In 1889, it was officially labeled the capital.

What is the nickname for Arizona?

The Copper State
The Grand Canyon State

What is Arizona’s nickname?

Who founded Prescott?

In the mid-19th century, Prescott developed rapidly. Many historians have called Charles D. Poston “the Father of Arizona” for his efforts toward creating the Arizona territory.

When was Phoenix founded?

February 25, 1881

What is the state nickname of Arizona?

Who were the first settlers in Arizona?

The first European to arrive in Arizona was Spanish priest Marcos de Niza in 1539. He was followed by explorers looking for gold as well as more priests looking to establish missions. Eventually the Spanish began to build permanent settlements including Tubac in 1752 and Tucson in 1775.