What political party does John Kerry represent?

What political party does John Kerry represent?

Democratic Party
John Kerry/Parties

Who did John Kerry run against in the presidential election?

2004 United States presidential election

Nominee George W. Bush John Kerry
Party Republican Democratic
Home state Texas Massachusetts
Running mate Dick Cheney John Edwards
Electoral vote 286 251

How many times did Kerry run for president?

The electoral history of John Kerry, Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts (1983–1985), United States Senator (1985–2013), United States Secretary of State (2013–2017), and 2004 Democratic presidential nominee.

What is an envoy for climate change?

The United States special presidential envoy for climate is a position in the Executive Office of the President of the United States with authority over energy policy and climate policy within the executive branch. It is currently held by John Kerry, who is the inaugural envoy.

Is John Kerry related to the Forbes family?

Family members include businessman John Murray Forbes (1813–1898), part of the first generation who accumulated wealth, and politician John Forbes Kerry (born 1943).

Is John Kerry still in politics?

Kerry served as Secretary of State until the end of the Obama administration in January 2017, when he left government service. Kerry returned to government in January 2021, becoming the first person to hold a new position, U.S. special presidential envoy for climate, in Biden’s administration.

What is a government envoy?

1a : a minister plenipotentiary accredited to a foreign government who ranks between an ambassador and a minister resident. — called also envoy extraordinary. b : a person delegated to represent one government in its dealings with another.

What is the role of a special envoy?

A Special Envoy of the Secretary-General (SESG) is a senior United Nations official appointed by the United Nations Secretary-General to deal with a set of specific issues.

Which President won by 1 vote?

Use It. In 1800 – Thomas Jefferson was elected President by one vote in the House of Representatives after a tie in the Electoral College.