What is the oldest constituency in the UK?

What is the oldest constituency in the UK?

Since the split of the seat City of York with effect from the 2010 general election, Lincoln has been the oldest constituency in continuous existence in the UK – established in 1265.

What constituency is Chester?

Cheshire West and Chester is part of the Northwest England constituency of the European Parliament and is represented by nine MEPs.

How many constituencies are there in Cheshire?

The ceremonial county of Cheshire (which includes the areas of the Cheshire West and Chester, Cheshire East, Halton and Warrington unitary authorities) is divided into 11 Parliamentary constituencies.

Who is the MP for Elton Cheshire?

Ellesmere Port and Neston is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament since 2015 by Justin Madders of the Labour Party.

Who is the MP for city of Chester?

City of Chester is a constituency in Cheshire, in the North West of England. The seat has been held by Christian Matheson (Labour) since May 2015. The following MPs have represented City of Chester since its boundaries were last changed in 2010.

When did the Cheshire constituency boundaries change?

However, before the new boundaries came into force for the 2010 election, the districts making up the county of Cheshire were abolished on 1 April 2009, being replaced by four unitary authorities. Consequently, the constituency’s boundaries became:

When was Chester enfranchised as a borough?

As part of a county palatine with a parliament of its own until the early-sixteenth century, Chester was not enfranchised (sent no MPs) until the Chester and Cheshire (Constituencies) Act 1542 (34 & 35 Hen VIII. c. 13), since when it returned two MPs to Parliament as a parliamentary borough.

What were the wards of Chester in 1983?

1983–1997: The City of Chester wards of Blacon Hall, Boughton, Boughton Heath, Christleton, College, Curzon, Dee Point, Dodleston, Grosvenor, Hoole, Newton, Plas Newton, Sealand, Upton Grange, Upton Heath, Vicars Cross, and Westminster.