What groups settled in the old Northwest?

What groups settled in the old Northwest?

Among the larger tribal groups inhabiting the Old Northwest by mid-century were the Ojibways, settled primarily around Lake Superior; the Ottawas, located in the straits region of present-day Michigan; the Potawatomis of southern Michigan; the remnants of the Huron nation (also known as Wyandots), settled around …

Who were the first people to live in the Northwest Territories?

Long before the Europeans arrived, Inuit and First Nations peoples inhabited the land area which became the Northwest Territories. Native Inuit included the Mackenzie, Copper, Caribou, and Central nations.

What countries were involved in the Northwest Territory?

NORTHWEST TERRITORY. Part of the vast domain ceded by Great Britain to the United States in the Treaty of Paris (1783), the Northwest Territory encompassed the area west of Pennsylvania, east of the Mississippi River, and north of the Ohio River to the border with British Canada.

Who lived in the Northwest Ordinance?

Native American Policy. The Northwest Territory was largely inhabited by Native Americans when Congress passed the Northwest Ordinance in 1787. After gaining independence from Great Britain, one of the many contentious issues facing the United States were competing claims to western lands.

How was the Northwest Territory divided?

In 1787, Congress adopted the Northwest Ordinance, which provided a model for the organization of future territories. The ordinance gave Congress the power to divide the area into three to five separate territories. Congress would appoint a governor, a secretary, and three judges to govern each territory.

What state is the Northwest Territory?

The Northwest Territory, or Old Northwest, refers to the area that became the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and a portion of Minnesota. The region comprises more than 260,000 square miles.

Who established the government of the Northwest Territories?

Fur traders, missionaries, and the police directed the life of the Northwest Territories until the 1920s, when discovery of oil near Fort Norman on the Mackenzie River prompted the Canadian government to establish a territorial administration for the area.

How was the Northwest Territory established?

Northwest Territory, U.S. territory created by Congress in 1787 encompassing the region lying west of Pennsylvania, north of the Ohio River, east of the Mississippi River, and south of the Great Lakes. Land policy and territorial government were established by the Northwest Ordinances of 1785 and 1787.

How did the Northwest Territory get settled?

Settlement of America’s western lands began with the Northwest Ordinance of 1787. Land policy and territorial government were established by the Northwest Ordinances of 1785 and 1787.

What rules were established by the Northwest Ordinance?

Under the ordinance, slavery was forever outlawed from the lands of the Northwest Territory, freedom of religion and other civil liberties were guaranteed, the resident Indians were promised decent treatment, and education was provided for.

How did the Northwest Ordinance relate to the Northwest Territory?

Also known as the Ordinance of 1787, the Northwest Ordinance established a government for the Northwest Territory, outlined the process for admitting a new state to the Union, and guaranteed that newly created states would be equal to the original thirteen states.

Who supported the Northwest Ordinance?

Thomas Jefferson, Nathan Dane, Manasseh Cutler, and Rufus King usually receive credit for the ideas behind the Northwest Ordinance. According to the act, the territory would have to progress through three separate stages of government.